Sparrows

Midnight slept indoors on the comfy kitchen chair nearly all day yesterday.
I think you can call him an indoors cat now. The wildlife trail cam showed he had not been out to the swing all night...

Is this the end of the nighttime videos of Midnight keeping a look out all night on the activities of the wild beasts?

Here is an earlier YouTube video on Midnight keeping watch all night...
https://youtu.be/xU3kuIsZn4E
I have a few more of these to show, then maybe it will just be the wild beasts after this?

I was watching the sparrows yesterday. I watch them everyday. There is a flock of them living 24/7 in my back garden these last two weeks. I am not sure how many, 50 or more? They are extremely noisy, like they are having a party all day long. They are eating me out of house and home. And I am running out of fatballs, which are virtually unobtainable at the moment. So yesterday I rationed them to two fatballs, one in each feeder...

Whoops, that did not go down well.

I did put bird seed out, but the sparrows wanted their fatballs.

To start with, it was very orderly, the sparrows sat two or three on a branch while one sparrow was on the fatball feeder, that one took a few pecks, then flew away, and the next sparrow came along and had her feed from the fatball feeder. And in the meantime from the branch behind came another sparrow to sit on the nearest branch to the fatball feeder. And so this orderly queueing went on for a short while, then suddenly chaos. One sparrow decided it was getting to the front of the queue without waiting. And all the others joined. This meant the fatball got broken up easily and fell between the wire frame to the ground. No more fatball.

So the sparrows regrouped themselves and went and had a raucous party on the wind fallen apples at the end of the garden. Then they retired to the rose bush right outside my bedroom door and carried on their noisy celebrations. I actually went outside and told them to shut up. They were silent for one minute...

Now Midnight is hardly outside at the moment, this flock of sparrows are taking up the whole garden, including being on the ground a lot, and turning over the area when the foxes and badgers root for food, which they didn't do with Midnight watching them 24/7...

The times are changing. Nothing stays the same.

Creative is a painting of 3 sparrows looking at me for only providing 1 fatball in their feeder. 

I need to go on a fatball expedition...

But first a cuppa, then wend my way to a covid vaccination centre...

Have a good day...
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.