Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Festival of Flame

Freda and I went to Corbridge this morning and saw the Festival of Christmas Trees in the parish church. Different organisations and businesses decorate trees that represent something about them.

I thought it was even better than previous years.

We had a cuppa and a scone before I waved goodbye to Freda at Corbridge Station. The train goes all the way to Sunderland (and even on to Whitby!). She took a taxi home at the other end. It was lovely to have her here.

This evening, I went to the Festival of Flame in Hexham Abbey. The main feature was a set of tea lights (artificial as it happened) laid out to represent a page from the Lindisfarne Gospels.

Some might say that the illuminated sheep were the main attraction. They have been residing all around Northumberland for the last few weeks, but they came to the Abbey to form a flock.

I loved the dancing lights that were all around the building. I wonder is the Abbey has had disco balls inside it before?! I've tried to capture the magical atmosphere created by these.

In my extras, a Roman centurion outside and the best view I could achieve of the floor lights.

There was a recital with violin and piano. Much as I like Vaughan Williams, I could not understand whey The Lark Ascending was thought to be suitable for an Advent evening of light!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.