Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

THE SINGER IN THE PINES

The woodpecker taunted me at breakfast time, sitting in the tree outside the kitchen. I have blipped him before on the feeder, but I lust after an image of him in a more natural setting. Of course, by the time I grabbed the camera, he was off down the garden, hiding in the rambling roses. I crept up, but he was away. Then I heard this plaintive call from the pine tree, 'Here I am, singing my heart out for you all day long, keeping you company when you are lonesome, clearing up the worms for you after you've left them strewn all over the garden - but do you chase after me in your nightie? Do I ever feature in your blip?'

Lovely gentle morning in the garden (digging up worms as I went). Now time to scrape the soil out of my finger nails and go teach a class or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.