Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Random things you find in hospitals: part 2

Companion piece to 26 January (but without the dead pet)

It's chemo day and my final cycle of the 'red peril'. Different chemicals to follow. 

A papier mache bed pan always struck me as illogical (like a chocolate tea pot).

I’ve only been required to use one once. I was in my twenties and bed bound in hospital. The nurse simply handed me one, drew the curtains and left me to figure it out myself. 

After 5 minutes or so I decided that the only way to do this safely was to squat over it as you might in a lavatory in Asia.

At any rate, when the nurse returned she peeped round the curtain, found this absolutely hilarious and invited her colleague to come over and have a laugh too.

I have to add this was in the eighties. I doubt nurses would be allowed to chuckle at a patient like this now. Mine certainly wouldn't.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.