New Truck

Got back from the rally and instantly ran into the problem of my old truck Dog and it's starting issue.

I have 2 weeks to get 3 houses finished and rented and spending 10-15 minutes each morning trying to start Dog is becoming a major frustration. In fact yesterday it didn't even want to start.

The other problem is that I cannot leave my wife with a non working truck whilst I'm away, she really doesn't need to be lugging a petrol lawnmower in the back of the Smart. And there's the second rub; using the Smart for work because Dog has an off day. I care dearly about that poor car getting scuffed up, paint in it, etc. I don't care if the work truck gets those things done to it.

So....ended up buying this old Chevy Silverado for cool $1000 this morning. It's in a fetching matt black, drivers seat was broken, drivers door card missing, a non functioning window - feels like Dog again! It even has 1 speaker - just like Dog!

But it does several things Dog can't. Start, would be the first one. Stay running is the second one. Tailgate doesn't break your fingers just trying to open it, and it has a fuel gauge (although that's a double edge sword). It even has window wipers.

Interestingly it does have at least a 5.0 litre V8 engine with what I think is a straight though exhaust. Great sound, very annoying at 50+.

The steering has a vagueness which can only be described as shot bushes, and the PAS leaks like you would not believe. I'll get the PAS fixed in the next couple of days somewhere, but the steering i'll leave until we decide whether to keep this 'beast' much after the summer or trade up for something a little more 'conservative'. We could put a tow hitch on it, buy a small trailer for tools/mower if we wanted, and then keep the truck a bit longer.

Still thinking about spending the $30 at the weekend to paint it matte white though....

I will close and say this - although my car credibility has taken a massive hit today, it still has more cylinders than your car ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.