Julesey's

By Julesey

Two really nice blokes....

I decided to have a day off stewarding today as I was actually introducing a talk on the NHS this evening and meeting a good friend for lunch. I also wanted to try and get a couple more photos for the Books are my Bag campaign. I went into watch the AC Grayling talk which was great. I nodded so much I nearly got repetetive strain injury. He was absolutely lovely afterwards when I accosted him about a photo and we decided to do it at his 'book signing' in the Festival bookshop. I was quite pleased with the results this time although still not perfect . I wanted to listen to the lecture by Hans Blix with Jon Snow interviewing so went round to the tech desk at the back of the tent to wait for them to come off stage and watch it on the monitors. I was told by the intern looking after them that Mr Blix had a plane to catch so I would not be able to delay him. Jon Snow and he clearly got on really well and when they came off stage Jon agreed to have his photo taken with the bag. I took a few photos and then to my surprise Jon Snow asked if I would take a photo for him . Hans was still there just about to get into the car so in the harsh mid day sun surrounded by such photogenic back drops as portable loos and a St Johns Ambulance we did the best we could. This time I remembered to ask if I could use it for blip!

I then met my lovely friend Sion for lunch . He forced me to drink a glass or two of something sparkly before I sat for an hour trying to work out two sentances to introduce the great Raymond Tallis for his talk on saving the NHS.

To finish off a pretty splendid day my good friend Rebecca, who I see once a year at Hay Festival, came to the restaurant for dinner and we caught up on a year of gossip.

I went to find Steve at the Big tent for a lift home and caught the last half of the Marcus Briggstocke event. It was BRILLIANT and thoroughly recommended. Very funny and witty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.