Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Southern Hawker

Luscious cascades of berries were overhanging the canal bank this afternoon in abundance and my southern hawker here just loved them. Hips, haws, blackberries, sloes and another berry I need to identify.

Checking out the weather forecast this morning it looked like 9 -11am  was good and I headed off for the fourth time to try and spy at least the dragonfly I've been stalking for the last week. Two hours in and no joy plus I was in an area where I really should not have been which made me a bit uncomfortable if I'm honest. My number plate has probably been clocked.

I checked out a common darter (Extra) which in the light I thought mistakenly might have been my quarry but no when I got it back on the computer.

Poppy needed a walk this afternoon so I risked the canal bank here in Tewkesbury. After a time of sedated ambling I felt ok, she must have felt ok as her tail was wagging so I risked going further to the bridge which crosses the canal for the return. Poppy was in her element just hanging with me not on a lead.  Oh my goodness  people passing us patted, stroked, talked to her before me (story of my life)  asked how old she was and in 3 cases it was apparently jaw dropping! SO then she got more cuddles and even more stroking and I just faded into the background... 

I caught a migrant hawker in flight in Extra on the canal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.