Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Progress...

Another hour or so ringing chimney chaps this morning. I had a website with prices in front of me, and rang a chimney chap.

'For a cowl on top of a gas fire, that'll be £270.'
'But it cost £23.49!'
'That's it fitted an' all!' he explained, somewhat hurt.

Oh, that's OK then.

However, I have arrived at an arrangement with a different man who will put them on for £25 per chimney, and I get all the stuff. That seemed a better idea. And he can come this week. Result!

Went up to the doctor for the 'urgent appointment'. I sat down and the doctor said,
'What can I do for you?'
'Er, you asked me to come!'

No, I didn't say that. I should say that there are many doctors at the surgery, and I see a different one each time, but I thought they checked up on the notes before seeing the next patient. Anyway, turns out I needn't've bothered popping in. She just said the endocrinologist will decide what to do. I felt a bit daft coming in to hear that, as I have had a letter with the appointment. She must have thought I was a rather overly-anxious silly old biddy. I didn't say I was there at the insistence of the rather overly-dramatic silly young receptionist.

Watched the tennis today. A great way to spend an hour or so. Andy continues, though he looked a bit rattled at times today. And the wee Robson lass did SO well.

This is Fernando, who runs a wee takeaway business near the Meadows. He loves his job. He's been there three years, and it always looks very inviting. He even has a wee herb garden at the back. Behind him is the old hospital, now being converted into upmarket flats.

Fingers crossed that no pigeons fall asleep and fall down my chimneys before Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.