secret garden

By freespiral

Foraging (it's a thing)

How Insta is this! We have some friends coming round for supper tonight and I've been out foraging! I gathered nettles, sorrel, wild garlic and a variety of herbs for a green tart - all artfully collected in my seagrass basket of course! A bit of spinach, half a courgette , some onions and cheese have also been added to the mix. The  sorrel instantly turned to sludge when gently simmered in butter, as did the nettles but hey - it hasn't turned out too badly and it is full of amazing minerals and Vitamin K! It will be served with new spuds and one of Himself's salads.
Mostly foraged at home though I did have to nip up the road for the wild garlic as I only have two shoots. 
And - it's stopped raining! There has been sunshine in between the showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.