Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just another Woodie

I don't think I ever walk out to my garden without seeing one or more downy woodpeckers.  They are abundant and show little fear of me or Jax or much of anything really (other than hawks).  This little guy was perched nicely when I walked out and I took this from a distance of about 5 feet, so minimal crop and the only edits I did were a slight adjustment in highlights and a little vignette.  The Downies are nesting now and even though it is too soon for babies to have hatched, the adults are already looking a little haggard.  They excavate a new nest cavity every year so they've been hard at work already.  

I developed a doozy of a sore throat and what felt like a fur ball in my throat last night - it seems that I've managed to catch a cold, of all things.  I honestly don't know where I might have gotten it and hope I don't give it to hubs.  Anyway, as a result, I've laid low today.  My throat feels like it's been scrubbed with a Brillo pad and I'm coughing and have a headache.  Hopefully by tomorrow the head congestion will let lose which will improve things.  We have a stretch of wonderful weather coming up and I don't intend on missing out.

Had a great FT chat with my parents this morning.  They are looking well!

Dark with peppermint today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.