Teasel

By Teasel

Spring

I was up early, to review my report, before forwarding it on to colleagues, for them to take forward today.  I also cleared my in box and then logged off before anyone else was online.  It was a lovely morning, so I decided to go for a walk (my usual pre-word walk route) to clear my head of work.  As I was coming back through town, I remembered I had to collect a prescription for BB, so even though the chemist had just opened, it already had a queue.  Not a very long one thankfully, but I got the stuff and made my way home.  I hung out some washing, encouraged BB to get out of his bed, as the has other exams to think about now, and then I popped out to the pop up bakery.  I was there slightly earlier today, and like the chemist there was still a queue, but not a very long one.  I got what I wanted and headed home to hang out some washing, then head out for a run.  I went on a route, I haven’t been on all winter due to the muddiness of the paths.  It was just lovely today, though still chilly and I wore my gloves for at least half of the time.
 
Lunch was sandwiches made with the baguettes which I had bought from the bakery.  To be honest I could have just slathered the fresh bread with butter and been happy.  A few chores were done, then a brisk walk in the sun.  I bumped into a couple of school mums and we stood and put the world to rights in the sunshine.  It felt much warmer than this morning. 
 
I then got myself ready and headed out with a few friends to Edinburgh.  We had tickets for a candlelit concert.  I had seen these advertised and wondered what they would be like.  A friend was keen to go – so we got tickets for the Fleetwood Mac one.  We arrived in good time and for the third time today I joined a queue.  Thankfully we didn’t have to wait too long, as we were not in the sun, and it was not warm.  The concert was in St Mary’s Episcopal Cathedral – which is a lovely church.  The performers were a pianist and a violinist – and they were excellent.  The sun was still streaming in when the concert started, which gave a lovely light – though the candles felt redundant at that point.  As the sun dropped and disappeared and the light reduced, the effect of the candles came into its own.  All in all we really enjoyed it.  We then headed out for dinner, which was very nice, apart from the very loud music.  I guess that’s what you get for being out in Edinburgh on a Friday night.  It really killed our conversation.  Anyway we still had a good night, and on the way home we chatted about hot water bottles and electric blankets – rock and roll!!
 
I got home to find out that BB had been out watching the under 20 football team, and that TT had played football and come home injured….again!
 
A view from my afternoon walk.  The field on the left has been planted this week.  The field on the right usually has cows in it, but none this year so far.
 
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.