MShelley

By MShelley

Fourth of July

You may recall that I had posted an image from a virtual world called Second Life last month. This morning, I received a message from a US colleague who I interact with in Second Life and who is celebrating the US Independence Day. So, I thought that I would share with you the photo of the virtual space that she has created for her mother. Her mother (as an avatar) spends a lot of time in this virtual space - interacting with family, meditating , attending Tai Chi class, etc. all from her arm-chair at home.

This is the story of my colleague's mother whose recovery from Parkinson's has been accelerated due to her activity/movements in Second Life. This story has opened up a new research area about how people's real lives could be enhanced through physical activity in a virtual world.

The blip shows my avatar standing in a US flag skirt in the virtual space my colleague has designed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.