*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Amy, Wonderful Amy

Thanks to everyone who took part in LBB16 (Biography) last month, the books other people read so far are here. Thanks Eunice for coming up with the prompt.

I'm still reading Amy Johnson's biography ('Queen of the Air' by Midge Gillies) but am getting towards the end. I'm not looking forward to the last chapter, entitled 'The Final Weekend'. It's been a bit of a roller coaster book, at times exciting and inspiring and other times frustrating and sad. I've found myself sometimes totally loving Amy and understanding her and other times not liking her at all. I think we'd have been at different ends of the political spectrum and sometimes her vanity and materialism grated. But I guess all of that is due to the fact that she was human, despite sometimes seeming like a superhero. She was an amazing woman, especially for those times, and I've learned a lot about early aviation and other aviatrices because of this book. There were some proper characters!

Details of May's prompt 'Animals' (#LBB17) is here and here (thanks lizzie_birkett for hosting again) and details of Love Blippin' Books and how to take part is here.

Today's blip is some sheet music I ordered which arrived today, which to say it's from 1930 is in very good condition. I've photographed and printed it out to keep the original safe. It has ukulele tabs too. If you don't know the song here it is, it's quite merry:

Jack Hylton and His Orchestra – Amy


Bet George Formby could have done a cracking solo for this song, in fact it's crying out for it, maybe I should invent one :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.