A day in the life

By Shelling

Grill

At half past five in the morning a cow starts almost howling a few metres away from my bedroom window. My landlord has started moving the cows and calves to their summer-graze, different fields of fresh grass, not far from here. Only twelve of them are left out of thirty animals, it's understandable if the herd is disturbed. The howling cow is also one of the ones who's calf died not long ago and maybe the herds change in numbers has awoken her grief, I don't know, but that's what I think in my bed.

I managed to fall into a slumber and got up at seven to have breakfast. At nine, I went out to rake  the grass I cut a couple of days ago into little heaps, that I then gave the cows to eat. I poured it out in front of a cow that happened to be closest and thought that she would somehow tell the others about the free food that dropped down mysteriously but no, she ate a lot of it herself without telling the others. After a long while, the others found out about it themselves and soon finished it off.

I was invited to the seasons first grill evening among my former neighbours, my contribution was some loin from a lamb, among us we had plenty of meat and salad and wine and beer to drink. Usually there's also a lot to talk about and being together with friends is the most precious thing i can imagine doing with my time, it became a late night but I will fall asleep with a smile on my face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.