Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Golf

Gavin booked a few weeks ago for Luke, Adam, myself and him to play golf today. Earlier in the week the forecast was for rain all day, then it changed to sunshine and rain. When we woke up this morning it was gloriously sunny and by mid morning it was 19C. We set off for golf, the boys wearing short sleeved golf shirts and Adam even wearing shorts but I knew it would change and by lunch time the clouds had come in. However we managed to enjoy our full round of golf with out any rain, which was very lucky.

I really enjoyed my game today. These days I am very happy about the good shots and don't dwell on the bad shots. I had some wonderful shots that I was thrilled about, and some blow our holes that I won't let upset me. There is a lot of water on this course, even some streams and rivers that come through it as can be seen here, so I lost 5 balls today :( I don't officially have a handicap as I consider myself a beginner, but  Gavin assigned me a handicap of 36 today and on that handicap I went round in 120 with a net score of 84 which is pretty rubbish but I managed to beat Gavin who had a dreadful round, haha! The boys play so well but they have low handicaps and always do well. I was delighted when the one tee shot had to go some distance including over the widest part of the river and I made it! We take the small wins and don't get upset about the losses :)

Meriel stayed home as she had work to do so she was able to walk Xena and look after her while we were out. Meriel has been on standby for work this weekend and unluckily for her she has been dealing with all sorts of problems all weekend, so it has been rather busy for her. Anna also had work to do on her dissertation for her masters.

We got home and started preparing food for a BBQ supper. Gavin made kebabs using chicken, peppers, red onions, halloumi (lactose free halloumi for me) and halloumi, pepper and mushroom ones for the girls who don't eat meat. I made the salads, my usual quinoa salad which everyone enjoys as it is full of tasty things even pomegranate.

I will catch up with journals later, but I hope the UK blippers are all enjoying their bank holiday weekend so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.