Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

White stars

 
A dull day to begin with, but I got some gardening (aka potted plant work) done this morning. A bit of Photo Club stuff to do too, then I emailed the poem and limericks I'd be reading this afternoon to the organiser of the u3a Poetry Group meeting.
 
I got a lift to the meeting where the agreed theme was Rocks, Islands and Landscapes. Not everyone follows the theme, so we had one about Glasgow and a visitor read 'Composed Upon Westminster Bridge' which had been my choice last month for the 'City Life' theme!
 
My choice today was 'The Lake Isle of Innisfree' and I wrote a few limericks on the subject of rocks, with which to lower the tone. This was one of them - 
 
A geology student from Dyce
Disregarded his tutor’s advice!
‘Confusing your quartzite
With slate, schist or bauxite
Is largely considered not gneiss!’
 
While we were indoors of course the sun came out and it was still warm enough to sit out with a cuppa when I got home.

My Blip today is of a beautiful double-flowered Trillium - Trillium grandiflorum 'Snowbunting'. My extra is Rhododendron lindleyi, a beautifully fragrant slightly tender species from the Eastern Himalayas and China.
 
Quote of the day: 'It is easier to write a mediocre poem than to understand a good one.’ - Michel de Montaigne.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.