blipperdude

By blipperdude

Aurora Hunting – Part 2

A spectacular aurora borealis this far south is such a unique event, I think it deserves the extra coverage – yesterday's blip was shot at 23:45 and this one today a little bit later at 3 minutes past midnight!

Gabriel and I had found a tractor trail heading into a large rapeseed field which allowed us to get a better view. I set up my tripod and we spent a happy half hour taking numerous shots of the vivid purple and green ripples across the sky – light produced by countless charged particles slamming into the upper atmosphere at 300 miles per second!

Later on I took a few shots of Gabriel out in the field, so he could post them on his socials. The universe was not done with us it seems – to top it all off, just as we were about to go indoors we saw a vivid meteor trail shoot across the sky above our house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.