ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill ' 't Haantje', Weesp

'het haantje' = 'het haant-yuh' = 'the little rooster' ... but not the red one :D))
'Weesp' = 'Weysp' (and not 'Wiesp')

Fabulous hunting weather!  And reasonable traffic both to and from.

'The Little Rooster' used to be a cornmill and can still function, but it's now predominantly a residence.  I admire how the owners are still motivated to maintain its mechanisms, but, then, why wouldn't they be.  It doesn't look that old, but it was actually built in 1663 in Amsterdam and meant to be a sawmill.  In 1716, it was transformed into an oil mill.  In 1820, it was moved to Weesp, still as an oil mill, and finally in the late 1820s/early 1830s it was transformed again into a cornmill.  In 1896, it was retired and is now the mill with the most number of 'retired' years, or years of not having been in serious operation, despite the fact that it can still work.  In short, an early retirement but still alive.  Struggling to explain, actually.  I can't say it's the 'oldest retired mill' because there are older mills that aren't any more that active.  'Retired for the longest number of years' isn't grammatically correct either.  I trust you get the message anyway.

Some housekeeping, a lot of MOOCking.  After dinner, AW left for Friday evening bridge at Sweed's and Benna's.  We've been hearing this past week that Hennes (remember that grouchy bridger AW used to partner with?) is going under the knife later this month to have a brain tumour removed.  It's located in a dangerous spot.  Even if the op is successful, outcomes are uncertain.  If the op is not sucessful, well, then, that would be it.  Many have mixed feelings about him as he has apparently become really unfriendly and irritable this past year or two, and more than a handful have stopped trying to keep in touch.  Understanding that his mood has most likely had something to do with his condition hasn't helped.  His wife has a blatantly patronizing attitude towards me, which is a turn off.

Thankful for things to do, even though I don't get to do all of the things I should do.  I am in this virtual waiting room, very distracted.  Last week's communiques from the Viking indicated that I might need to fly to MNL myself to arrange things with the municipality.  To be honest, I do not feel like doing that and would rather save whatever we have for other objectives.  I do not understand why I should be forced to spend for business that should have been taken care of by the Opposition, who, as it happens, has more money than I do, and who lied and cheated and bribed his way through the entire process, and allowed himself to be used and abused by parasites.  I look forward to the legal counsel of the municipality and the Court agreeing to our proposals and resolving the issues according to our suggestions.  I do not mind going there once the first of the funds comes in.  AW will come along, naturally, but this will not be a holiday for me.  But first things first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.