fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Summer (2)

I worked from home this afternoon on the grounds that the man from BT was coming to inspect my line. Arriving home at twenty past twelve, I had ten minutes to get into my shorts and t-shirt before a conference call at 12:30.

Characteristically, I fannied about instead for the whole ten minutes and then thought I'd have to get changed after the call. And then that meeting was moved but I ended up on the 'phone anyway.

And it didn't stop. Across a range of 'phone calls, I actually spent the *entire* afternoon on the 'phone. I was busy on a call when the BT man rang at 4pm to say that he wouldn't make our "appointment" (actually "any time between 1pm and 6pm"). I watched my daughter Izzy take the call, longing to switch calls and ask BT why I have to pay them £180 if they deem the visit unnecessary but they don't have to pay me for wasting my time.

And then, just as everything was winding down, I saw this out of the window: Dan and Milly playing Spit, in the sunshine. So, I put on my shorts, made a picnic and joined them in the garden. Bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.