JoNatalie

By JoNatalie

fountain pens shop

I love fountain pens so there is no doubts that's my favorite shop in the city. The owner of this shop is the person who can talk about fountain pens for hours so it's just impossible to stop there just for few minutes... This place always makes me feel like Daniel Sempere, who was main character of one of my favorite books - Shadow of the wind.

"There was a time, in my childhood, when, perhaps because I had been raised among books and booksellers, I dreamed of becoming a novelist. The root of my literary ambitions, apart from the marvelous simplicity with which one sees things at the age of five, lay in a prodigious piece of craftsmanship and precision that was exhibited in a found-pen shop on Calle Anselmo Clave, just behind the Military Government building.
The object of my devotion, a plush black pen, adorned with heaven knows how many refinements and flourishes, presided over the shop window as if it were the crown jewels. A baroque fantasy magnificently wrought in silver and gold that shone like the lighthouse at Alexandria, the nib was a wonder in its own right. When my father and I went out for a walk, I wouldn't stop pestering him until he took me to see the pen. My father declared that it must be, at the very least, the pen of an emperor. I was secretly convinced that with such a marvel one would be able to write anything, from novels to encyclopedias, and letters whose supernatural power would surpass any postal limitations - a letter written with that pen would reach the most remote corners of the world, even that unkownable place to which my father said my mother had gone and from where she would never return.
One day we decided to go into the shop and inquire about the blessed artifact. It turned out to be the queen of all fountain pens, a Montlbanc Meinsterstuck in a numbered series."
- C. R. Zafon, Shadow of the wind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.