GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Election Day

I've been on a bit of blipping hiatus. I haven't felt much like taking photos lately, but I've started an evening course in photography and I'm really enjoying it.

I haven't even been following others' blips, so I'd love to hear how you are all doing. I've thought about the community every day, but just haven't had the energy or motivation to engage. I hope to do better.

It's referendum day in Ireland today. Two questions have been put to the people: one proposes to abolish the Seanad, our second chamber; the second proposes to set up a Court of Appeal.

I've worked first as a Polling Clerk and then as a Presiding Officer in elections and referenda since 2007. I lost my slot when I was living in Palestine but, by a stroke of luck, I managed to get back into the same station.

I really enjoy the work, although the days are between 14 and 16 hours long. It's tiresome sitting at a desk for so long without a break but we are well-compensated and, most of all, I love meeting people all day long. I chat to everyone who comes in, though some are more receptive than others!

We've been here since 6.30am. Voting was extremely slow all day, the slowest I've experienced. I find it depressing that people are so flippant and apathetic about using their right to vote. It doesn't take much effort to educate yourself about the issues and take the time to cast your ballot.

Of course, I think of my friends in the Gaza Strip who have been denied the right to vote in any elections since 2006. We don't appreciate how lucky we are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.