Goodbye Poach

Today was my final ever game as Lincoln City mascot Poacher the Imps after 16 seasons, and it was a really memorable day. At half time I was l;ured onto the pitch with the premise of having a shot taken with some cheer leaders when in fact I was the subject of a lovely presentation by JV from the club. They had a framed picture made up for me and after that I got to do a full lap of the ground to wonderful applause. I'm not too much of a man to admit I had a tear in my eye as I went around.

A young lad called Rhys had made me a card too which was lovely, and the well wishers kept on coming. I felt truly humbled that my departure sparked such a reaction and truly blessed that I've had a decade and a half in such a special role.

This shot stood out for me though. The man in the red suit is me (my Dad took the shot on my camera, sorry blipfoto) and the man in the coat is Alan Long. Alan is the matchday announcer and another volunteer at the club, and between us we've served 33 years of dedicated service. He's been a great person to know and someone whom often falls foul of my high jinx.. I've soaked him with water and we've bounced off each other match after match. He was involved in the first interview I had at the club and he's been there throughout my tenure. He's a real Imps legend and I shall miss him immensely.

I'll miss it all if I'm honest. It's time to move on and my life is going to change for the best, but it doesn't stop me feeling a little sad tonight.

The game ended 0-0.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.