fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Pale green

Today I drove to Nottingham, stopping off on the way for a meeting just south of the Thelwall Viaduct. It wasn't a bad old journey; I made a few 'phone calls, listened to some music and, for a while, I even had my sunnies on.

Just coming into Nottingham I saw this behemoth. On the one hand, I was quite impressed by the scale of the thing, the human endeavour that went into making it. On the other, I was a bit appalled to imagine those chimneys, churning out - what exactly? - into the atmosphere every day.

Maybe its days are numbered but will Cameron stick to his "greenest government ever" pledge? I doubt it. He's broken weightier promises before and Osborne is already paving the way with his disingenuous suggestions that green taxes are holding back "the recovery".

I guess that's the difference between custodians and pillagers, which these spoilt brats undoubtedly are.

Addendum (22/11/13): @jools_wilson tweeted me to say the emissions are steam, so I had a quick look on Wikipedia. She's right but "the plant emits some 8–10 million tonnes of CO2 annually making it the 18th highest CO2 emitting power station in Europe" and "a number of environmental protests have been associated with the plant".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.