Sheepish Contraptioneer

By PaulCCB

Waterbones

Why I thought about that all of a sudden, I'll never know!

I've always liked ice, and the last few days have been cold enough to cause some, so I've had a bit of fun. Our outdoor cheese-vat has been sealed and holds water nicely, and today I was able to pick up a big piece of ice about 1/2" thick by three feet square. I was setting it down on edge to display it in the yard, but a sharp stone caused it to break into several pieces.

What you see in this photo is a bit of ice that's formed on the plants around our running water feature. To get the photo, I layed down close and took several photos, stitching them together at home for a wide-angle effect.

Now, as to waterbones - a friend long ago had a dog, a doberman-shepherd mix, who loved biting icicles, and if you broke one off and tossed it the dog would catch it and with great delight chomp it to bits.

Such is the mental trivia that a contraptioneer accumulates over the years!

~:-S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.