my daemon is calling

By kuchingboy

You are too beautiful

Like all fools, I believed what I wanted to believe,
My foolish conceived what foolish hearts conceive.
I thought I found a miracle, I thought that you'd adore me,
But it was not a miracle,
It was merely a mirage before me.

You are too beautiful, my dear, to be true,
And I am a fool for beauty.
Fooled by the feeling that because I had found you,
I could have bound you, too.

You are too beautiful for one man alone,
For one lucky fool to be with,
When there are other men with eyes of their own to see with.

Love does not take sharing,
Not if one cares.
Have you been comparing
My every kiss with theirs?

If on the other hand I'm faithful to you
It's not through a sense of duty,
You are too beautiful and I am a fool for beauty.

Hallelujah, I'm a Bum
Music and lyrics by Rogers and Hart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.