On Running

Last year my good friend's daughter died in a skiing accident.
This year I am running the Bath Half Marathon in support of Jemima's Gift, the Charity they set up in her name.

On Running:
You are supposed to learn something about yourself when you run and today I learned several things and I will tell you about them.
The funny thing about running is that it really isn't funny at all.
The only people you see laughing are the Yoofs pointing and jeering from the back of their mate's car.
I have learned that there are hit men out there driving white vans who really are trying to kill me.
I've realised that it is not a good idea to step into puddles that you can't see the bottom of.
I also learned, at the seven mile mark, that in spite of everything I had previously thought about my motivation for running the Bath Half Marathon again [losing a bit of weight, fighting back against advancing middle age etc] weren't the most important and the real drive for battling through the pain and fatigue was the wish to try to make a small girl lying still in the snow on a Austrian mountain side smile again.
Oh, and I learned that running while you are crying is a bad idea too because your breathing goes funny and you can't see where the hell you are going.

http://jemimasgift.wordpress.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.