Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Dedicated blipping

It took until 6.00 am, but I got one of my jobs finished at last. After a few hours sleep there was still the job of printing out some hard copy for the client and putting together a cover document explaining some of the design choices. Sometimes I'd like to shoot Epson. My Stylus Photo 1200 produces perfectly acceptable work, but the paper feed is just too crazy for words. I was printing onto photo-quality inkjet paper, and all was well for the first few pages. But then the bloody thing grabbed several sheets together and totally lost the run of itself. I should know better by now than to intervene, but frustration set in and I grabbed and pulled the sheets out to prevent a paper jam. Printer didn't like it, got confused, wouldn't let me stop the current print job. Grrrrrrr!

Finally dropped over the hard copy, sighed a sigh of relief and went blipping near the client's place. Must be honest, though -- I couldn't resist temptation on the way out and fired off a few blips before the client drop. I've been spending more time in the front garden over the past three weeks than I have for months before. It's fairly small, and not exactly a joy to behold, but it's proved a real blippable treasure trove. In the space of four minutes I bagged two serviceable water-drops-on-petals shots (been there, done that), and my first-ever halfway decent bee blip. But the bee insisted on hiding half its body in the flower head and its wings could be a tad sharper -- and there are two far better bee blips already on offer for today.

A further twenty minutes around clientland bagged half a dozen okay shots which will probably surface around my other photoblogs in due course. But there really was no contest when it came to decision time. I must have looked a right wally dodging under tree limbs, crouching down to point the lens from unusual angles and generally lolloping through the wet grass. Even when the weather is as inclement as it's been recently, the true blipper braves the worst that nature can offer. It's just as well these shoes weren't too expensive, because I'd hate to have subjected a decent pair to the rigours these have gone through recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.