Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Southerly Buster


It was just a curved line on the weather map, but when the front hit it shook the house and scattered cones and branches across the lawn and out over the road.

This cabbage tree has two nests in it. The starlings are still feeding and I think the sparrows are incubating. The sparrows are late because their first nest was blown out during another storm. That bit of sheep's wool is theirs.

The storm is bad news. Today is Show Day in Canterbury and the province's anniversary holiday. The Canterbury Agricultural and Pastural Show is the biggest in the country and this year is hosting the Royal Show. Traditionally Show Day is hot and dusty, but not today. The wind is very cold. I foolishly went out to take photos without my gloves on and had to come in when the pain got too much.

I'd like to introduce my daughter firehorsemia, who joined Blipfoto yesterday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.