Cambridgeshire

I get days like this sometimes, maybe once a month. I need to travel somewhere but I have a load of things to do before I go. Loads and loads of things. Emails, 'phone calls, stuff that needs writing or doing plus, ambitiously, fitting in a swim.

And then, abruptly, at half past two I was in the car and heading for the depths of Cambridgeshire. Suddenly all the rushing and remembering and looking at scribbled notes was over and done with and I was able to put on some music and ease into the long journey. And it is a long journey: there's something about travelling east of the M1 that seems to take an unnecessarily long time.

It's flat, too, especially when you're travelling down from the South Lakes through North Yorkshire. And that flatness makes the sky seem HUGE, it's like being in another country. I stopped and took this shot shortly after leaving the main road, just before I arrived at my friend Mark's house. There was plenty of chat, some* red wine, an Indian takeaway plus some serious envy over his new Sonos set up.

*more than some :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.