_Holly_Days_

By H0lly

Reminders of Home

This morning on the train I could hear a bunch of uni students discussing philosophy in the loud 'we're so awesome because we ponder existence' way that philosophy students tend to do. Then after school I headed to Shoreditch to catch up with Steph, a friend's sister from back home. Shoreditch was very cool, and absolutely hipster central. Having lived in Brunswick for the last three years, I very much felt at home!

Steph and I had a few delicious and creative cocktails, and a good chat for a few hours before I made my journey back to Greenwich. On my walk from the station I passed by the university which looked very beautiful lit up at night.

“The problem, often not discovered until late in life, is that when you look for things in life like love, meaning, motivation, it implies they are sitting behind a tree or under a rock. The most successful people in life recognize, that in life they create their own love, they manufacture their own meaning, they generate their own motivation. For me, I am driven by two main philosophies, know more today about the world than I knew yesterday. And lessen the suffering of others. You'd be surprised how far that gets you."
-Neil deGrasse Tyson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.