The Artist

We went to see Prince at the "Phones4U Arena" (stupid name) this evening. It was a great gig. He is a proper little show off.

Yesterday, I got an email from Ticketmaster, telling me that I had to wear something purple. I bought a shirt which looked purple to me. The chap in the shop said he thought it was pink; the label says it is "bright magenta" but, as I walked out at the end, a girl asked me whether I was wearing the shirt to fit with the last song - "Purple Rain." Vindicated!! We agreed that "Magenta Rain" would also work well as a lyric.

A huge fuss was made about not taking photographs. It seems that "The Artist" is keen that we enjoy the gig directly and together, communally (aaaah bless) rather than looking at it through our iPhone screens or viewfinders. The concert began with his entire band imploring us to refrain from photography. Then, when it was underway, large menacing chaps in black suits wandered through the audience, shining torches on miscreants.

So I will probably be arrested by the Prince Police tomorrow morning. Along with 5000 other people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.