Marooned in Clonakilty

Well this was a bit closer than I intended! I had innocently gone into Clonakilty to collect the latest card order and quickly realised something was going on! Gardai and hi vis jackets all over the place. Marooned in Clon I decided to investigate. Much excitement for An Post Rás was due through any minute. I was handed a flag and given a lolly and joined the expectant throng. The woman next to me explained - over 200 heart cyclists had started in darkest Kerry five days ago and were hurtling around the coast intending to end up in Dublin eventually. Excitement mounted, whistles were blown, old ladies kept crossing at the wrong moment, gardai cars went by blowing their horns and then suddenly the first 6 blokes were upon us- I and the woman next to me nearly inadvertently joined the race! Look how close he is! Good job I wasn't wearing a yellow jumper. I had my camera on super fast but most pix just have a handlebar or an empty space in them. Boy, they were speeding up the hill. After another 10 minutes or so the next lot came in and then after more wait a great swathe of cyclists all looking incredibly fit - not a pick on them, as my friend might say. Apologies for the blur but that's the way it happened!
All this on top of a visit to Bantry first thing to get the first proofs done - looking good! And last night we didn't stagger in till late as it's Schull Film festival . And we're going on our hols on saturday, so all happening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.