NeilS

By NeilS

No One Owns The Land

A very powerful and moving installation by Ester Svensson and Rosanna Martin for the Brighton Festival, No One Owns The Land explores migration and belonging. Little ceramic figures occupy a variety of landscapes - a stylised tree representing a forest, mountains, or just huddled in a cupboard - spread around the basement of the Regency House in Brunswick Square, Hove, separated by ugly metallic installations.

I felt that perhaps this weekend we needed more than at most times a reminder that humanity transcends borders and nations and flags. I'd allowed myself to get into a rather pointless argument with somebody about immigration and culture earlier on (I'm in favour of both) so there was a bit of an edge to my reaction.

I'd urge anyone in Brighton to get along to this but its last day is tomorrow.

The full set of photos is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.