WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Excitement mounts

I continued my recce for Sunday this morning and after tutoring this evening, headed over to Ilkley to catch the end of the cycling event.

As the sun was setting, I thought I was just watching the men's race until I heard someone shout, "Go on Lizzie!"  I guessed it was a joke.  

Then I heard it on a couple more laps so I looked a little closer.  

Lizzie Armitstead, our Olympic silver medallist from Otley, took the lead against the men for a while (I think*) in the Ilkley town centre race tonight.  I don't think she won but I was on the uphill section so I missed the end but she certainly was right up there with the best of the blokes.

Go Lizzie!



*It was actually hard to tell who was in the lead and who was being lapped at times but someone else shouted that she was in the lead so I'm continuing the rumour mill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.