lowviz

A slow start to the day; +1/2 took +2/3 to swimming (no riding today as it's now finished for the summer holidays) so I went for a wander with the boys along to Newburgh.

If you venture down to the river's edge there are loads of wee hidden gems; we got there in time to see the sailing club out taking advantage of the reasonably steady and firm breeze and by chance spotted a scouting friend in the closest boat. Must get back to dinghy sailing at some point...

Cameras with no viewfinders: impossible to use in any kind of bright-ish light. I couldn't see a thing - fortunately I'd installed MagicLantern so I have a focus peaking display so I can kind of see what's going on... rather important when you're using a manual focus lens (135mm f2, no SMC).

In the afternoon it was time for the village fete (ice creams, bouncy castles, raffles, all great) then a gig in the evening - probably my last. We've been playing for the last four years and every year we have a fantastic time: a completely jumping crowd with everyone completely into it and this year was no exception. We even had support this year from our drummer's son's band; worryingly good!

The only difference this year was it's probably my last gig. Genuinely emotional and I even got some presents: a commemorative t-shirt and way too many amazon vouchers. What a fantastic bunch of people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.