Triplets

Back in February, I took this photo at our local garage, Kirkby Motors. Today, I had a similar experience when I saw these three vehicles on the forecourt. And, photographically, that was the highpoint of my day!

Unfortunately I don't have six thousand pounds knocking around spare and, if I did I'm not sure that buying one of these would be my highest priority, but I did used to have an old Land Rover and I liked it very much. I bought it after, in the space of three days and due to the flooding at the time (1998), I managed to put both my own and my then wife's car in the garage after ambitious attempts to get along the lane from the cottage we were renting to the main road. (I was freelance at the time and there was no facility to work from home. I *needed* to get to the office!)

So, we ended up with three cars: a people carrier, the car I used to get to work - a rather handy Citroën ZX - and the Land Rover Defender. Despite it's weight and poor manoeuvrability I quickly found the Defender was my car of choice at weekends. There was something fun about this rough and ready vehicle, with the girls all piled in the back. It was a sad day when I had to sell it.

I bought one again a few years later, a new one this time. But it was a long wheel base and nowhere near as much fun although, in its favour, it did fit all the kids. But it was also rubbish for long drives to see clients and it was around then that petrol prices rocketed. Seeing these fellows, today, though, I still felt a twinge of regret that I sold that first one I owned. I'm sure it would still be going now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.