Perfect storm

It's not often you can remember precisely when you first came across a phrase that you go on to use regularly but I know when I first heard - or, in fact, saw - the term 'perfect storm'. It was in 2000, when George Clooney starred in the film of that name and I saw it on the posters. (I have, however, never seen the film.)

Despite that fact that we strive to do everything properly at work, occasionally a small group of unforeseen events - all manageable in themselves - will conspire to create a situation that runs the risk of making us look like muppets and letting our clients down. So, this time last week, we were cruising along and, to be honest, feeling pretty pleased with ourselves. Today, lots of meetings, plans, strategies and swearing.

Amidst all that, I had a meeting with a friend for whom we might do a bit of work, and I got to spend an hour or so, sitting in the sunshine, sipping tea and getting things in perspective. It might be a perfect storm but, in the grand scheme of things, it'd fit in a teacup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.