The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Catkins

I love this time of year when the twisted hazel produces catkins: one of those signals that spring has sprung and the summer is on its way.

At the time that this photo was taken, I was waiting to head off to hospital for a colonoscopy examination so that my consultant can have a proper look at the tumour that he discovered on 28th February. As this is a back blip, we now know that the tumour was confirmed at this examination and biopsies taken. It was not as unpleasant an experience as I had feared but not an enjoyable one nonetheless. My overriding feeling about this day is that at least the doctors had all the information necessary to assess my case and make decisions about the way forward.

I have always had that feeling that what is done, is done and you can’t turn the clock back so, despite my fear of the possibilities for the future, I am maintaining a positive attitude towards this illness as it will help me in the coming months.

Back-blipped on 4th September 2014

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.