Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Brick Lane.

We spent a lovely day wandering in and around Brick Lane today. It's choc-a-block full of wonderful wee shops and amazing graffiti and murals. I've never been before and I just loved it - so much to photograph!

I took my polaroid with me and used one of my poisoned paradise films so at some point I'll take picture of some of my pictures and put them on here too! (I think that's kind-of allowed, huh?!)

We popped into Tatty Devine to oooh and ahh over all their jewellery and Maggie got herself a gorgeous necklace (then proceeded to admire herself in every mirror we passed - well, it kept her occupied while I snapped away!), we also tried to go to the Rob Ryan shop on Columbia Rd but found that most of the amazing looking wee places along there didn't open until later in the afternoon and in fact that one is now by appointment only which was a real shame. It's a lovely street though, all the shop fronts are painted different colours and it's a really nice area to wander about. We circled back round and down Bethnal Green Rd - which I have to admit I totally engineered just so that I could see Lady Dinah's Cat Emporium! I'd have loved to go in for coffee and have a play with the cats but considering how allergic Mags is with just one cat nearby it probably wouldn't have been fair to force her into a whole roomful! I totally didn't have to think twice about that...*

We explored some more around Brick Lane and checked out some secondhand shops and wee boutiques (well Maggie did, I took pictures!) and discovered a new shop by one of our favourite designers who does fab ceramics and prints, JimbobArt. I'd been eyeing up the plates when we were in Liberty the other day so it didn't take much to persuade me to get one for myself ;) It'll be a cool addition to my plate collection...I'll have to blip it soon.

We had a late lunch/early dinner and margaritas at very tasty Mexican place. Then ambled along until we realised we'd managed to walk quite far from Shoreditch! Decided just to keep going and see the Poppies at The Tower Of London, then cross over the bridge and walk up the other side. This turned out to be somewhat a mistake. Too much walking for me and no tube station in sight! We made it back across eventually, mistook a couple of underground walkways for tube stations before finally finding one and making our way back to King's Cross. Where we stocked up on GnT's (thankyou M&S) and headed back to our tiny room for some much needed rest, relaxation, telly and gin!




*There has however been talk recently of a cat café opening in Edinburgh *firmly crosses fingers* so you can bet I'll be all over that should it come about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.