Middleton

I wanted to run ten and a half miles today and I have a route which, happily, is just that length. About four miles of it is on a road which can get a bit busy on a Sunday, so , as I was setting off early, while the kids were still in bed, I decided to run anti-clockwise and do that bit first.

I left the cottage at about a quarter past eight, headed down to Devil's Bridge and then struck north, running up the Sedbergh Road as far as Middleton. I expected that during the half an hour or so that I was running up the road I'd be passed by maybe a dozen vehicles. However, it turned out that there was an almost constant stream of cars. At the time I wondered if there was some rugby on up at Sedbergh School but there were just too many cars for that to account for the volume of traffic*.

In the end it was quite a relief to turn off at Rigmaden and then take the much quieter lane down the western side of the valley. I arrived home just as Dan was waking up, but we forwent our early morning cuddle as I was a little hot and sweaty. I sat for a while in the front door, cooling down and looking out at the garden admiring these, my new running tights, which the Minx got for me.

*I found out later that there was a massive fell race on at Middleton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.