Midge

I'm not a big one for the nostalgia circuit. Admittedly, I did go and see Duran Duran when they reformed - as the original line-up - about ten years ago but that was more about the event. That aside, I really only go to see bands that I loved in my youth if they're still making (decent) music. It was for that reason that I saw Blancmange a couple of years ago, before I saw them supporting Heaven 17 on Friday.

By coincidence, we also had tickets for Midge Ure, this weekend, making for a bit of an eighties-fest. I've written about the gig here, so I won't repeat myself but I was glad the Minx enjoyed it. Sometimes when I'm unsure about gigs, I'd rather go on my own than risk being with someone who's not enjoying themselves.

For this reason, a few years ago I went to see Dirty Three play at Academy 3 on my own. It was one of the best gigs I've ever been to and I spent a lot of the evening wishing I'd invited *all* my friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.