Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Dad

My Dad called me this morning. I picked up the phone and after saying hi, I followed with this: "Hey Dad, just an FYI but you are going to be my blip today". "Oh, okay no problem" he says. "I want you wearing your golf hat, sitting on the dock and lighting a cigar okay??". "Sure, no problemo".

My Dad. One of the most fiercely loyal people on the planet. Logical, sensible, and reasonable. Sound advice always. If anyone is ever in need of a pep talk, he's your guy. The devotion that he has for us and for his life long friends is astounding. He has always provided a solid foundation in our lives. I could sit down and talk to him about anything. Confident that I would receive the attention and reason that I was looking for. And the humor. He has the humor that has been so deeply ingrained in me. I find him to be absolutely hilarious. I always have. We are very similar. In so many different ways. I have always been proud to call him my Dad. I love you!

Interview:

Dad, what's the best prank that you've ever pulled?
Didn't you steal a mascot or a tree or something back when you were in college?

Oh you mean the parking meter? I can't let you write too much about that.
Hmm, let's see. Okay I've got one.....


One day at work I went into my coworkers office and took the pins off of his door. I pocketed the pins and carefully put the door back on the hinges. When my buddy went to open his door, it crashed to the floor in front of him. Yeah, that was a good one.

Oh and did you hear what I did with the styrofoam cup? Oh this was good. I took a styrofoam cup and put a tiny pin hole in the side. My coworker grabbed it and filled it will water for her class. In the middle of her lecture, water began dripping down her shirt and she had no idea until someone brought it to her attention.

Oh and this was a GOOD one. Back in college, one of our roomates had met a girl and had a date that night. The plan was that she would pull up in front of our house and honk her horn for him to meet her. So when he was in his room getting ready, we tied his door shut. She came pulling up to the house and honked. He tried his door and it was stuck. She honked louder and he started banging on the door. She honked loud and long and then drove off down the street. He never heard from her again. Oh he was furious with us. For a long time.

Okay, so what is the worst prank that has ever been played on you?

Oh that's easy. After work one day, I was in a hurry and jumped into my truck to go home. We were leaving for the airport to go to Hawaii remember? So I turned on my engine and put my truck in reverse. My tires started spinning and peeling out but I wasn't going anywhere. I jumped out of my truck and realized that each tire had been jacked up one inch. I was totally stuck in the parking lot and my coworkers were hiding around in the bushes laughing at me. Yeah, I wasn't too happy about that one.

My Dad. The ultimate prank giver and receiver. I swear the reason he loved his job so much was because of his coworkers and the mischief that they were always up to. They became his best friends years and years ago. Each and every one of them still play a huge role in his life. In all of our lives. My Dad makes the people he loves feel very special and appreciated........well maybe except for when he is pranking them. But it's all done out of love and the fact that their motto is, "what goes around comes around".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.