Hideous ugliness

This is part of the façade of Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, in the heart of Dublin. It is without doubt one of the ugliest buildings in the city, and annoys the hell out of me every time I see it. Unfortunately, it was built on a corner St Stephen's Green, a green oasis in the heart of a concrete wasteland and one of the loveliest amenities the city has. It's an eyesore of the highest (lowest?) order, and I cannot understand how the planners allowed such a monstrosity to be built. I've blipped the interior before, but it's the outside which really bugs me. I mentioned at the time of that previous blip that the place reminds me of nothing so much as a stranded Mississippi river boat, and I stick to that description (the original shows more of its awfulness, but I had to crop it because a smudge on the camera lens had resulted in a large blurred blob covering a good third of the image).

I'd been in town to meet my printer contact for the quarterly magazine. I always like to have copies of each job I work on, and I hadn't received the usual copies of edition of the magazine I'd been working on before going on hoiiday. We met over at Baggot Street and I walked back to my Abbey Street bus stop via Stephen's Green, stopping off at a bookshop on Grafton Street to stock up with a few new books (another one of those 3-for-2 offers which I'm sure I'll end up blipping some time).

The rest of the day was uneventful.

Yesterday back-blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.