What Eye Spy

By Snappybiatch

Remember...

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

.... on this day I remember all who fought and fell or were injured so that I have the freedom simply to be as free as I am...

In particular -

William Bone - World War II Paratrooper, injured by friendly fire in N. Africa but saved by a German surgeon who amputated his leg in the field of battle.

Hugh Docherty - Infantry died age 19 in WWII, engaged to be married before he left to fight for his country but never returned.

Gary Wright - Recce Troop, 45 Commando Royal Marines, killed in Helmand Province, Afghanistan when his snatch landrover was blown up by a suicide bomber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.