Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

Winter Kudzu

I've been wanting to blip the kudzu vines for a while. Never could do it while it was green & growing, so here's what kudzu looks like in winter.

Kudzu is an invasive vine that was introduced here in the US in the late 1800's, probably for erosion control. It will totally take over an area, it has been known to grow 60 feet in a growing season. I read somewhere that it covers over 700 million acres here in the south. Of course around here most of what it does cover it rather useless land. Cattle love it, they graze it as fast as they can when they can reach it. I think it may be illegal to cultivate right now, it is considered a weed.

Kudzu lesson over, I'm ready for the weekend. Even though I'll be working tomorrow for a short time :( but that's o.k.

Just to let you know, another snowfall this morning.. I'm SO tired of it you wouldn't believe.. but the sun did shine later so that was good :)

ps. if I'm wrong on any counts of the kudzu, just let me know

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.