Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Robert Boyle Science Festival

This is the Pugin Room of Lismore Castle, now the property of the Duke of Devonshire. His son, the Earl of Burlington, maintains an apartment in the castle, and we met him during the opening ceremonies. The connection with Robert Boyle is that the castle, which had belonged to Walter Raleigh, was bought by Richard Boyle, Robert's father.

The Robert Boyle Science Festival centred its festivities over the weekend in this reception hall, redesigned by Pugin.

The Festival was most ably organised by a team from the Lismore Heritage Centre., assisted by a special committee. I had been invited to give a lecture at the Festival (see Blipfoto for Saturday 19 November).

I shall be exploring some aspects of Lismore and Cork in my Blipfoto submissions for the next few days. I'll provide a few links, but I have

provided a complete set of my photographs from the visit for anyone interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.