Chaos and Calm

By KatKatzenjammer

City And Colour(ful language)

Night two working with Dallas Green. Got to spend more than the designated 40 minutes with him, interviewing him. This is a snapshot from the interview which I recorded at low picture quality on my camera because all I need it for is for reference while writing a review.

If you saw yesterday's blip - I'm pleased to announce I didn't end up in prison. I held it together, and asked questions that made him think, which was good. There was no inappropriate-ness from me.

I got more than I bargained for with the interview. Asking fairly simple questions, he gave me some very in-depth answers, in a way I hadn't expected. He said early in the interview that he is uncomfortable with talking to people he's only just met, especially when he has to talk about himself. But after my third question, we seemed to REALLY connect, and we talked (and talked and talke and talked) like old friends. Possibly one of the most surreal moments I've had.

As great as it was, there was also a very heart breaking revelation to me. Keeping in mind, Dallas is my favourite musician and his work inspires and influences my own songwriting (an I'm a bit smitten), you can probably imagine the look on my face after this exchange.
Me: Creative block... Is that something you ever struggle with?
Dallas: It takes me a long time to write songs because I... I... Don't... I don't really have a ton of faith in what I do...


It's one thing to read something about your idol not having faith in themselves. But, it's devastating when they are in the same room as you, alone, talking to you, answering a question you asked - and you see the look on their face, and hear the shift in voice while saying it. My heart broke.

That said, there was a lot of laughter in the interview, and it was a fantastic night. At the show afterwards, which I'm reviewing, he played my three favourite songs of his as the encore. I'm not sure if that was pre-planned, but we did discuss my favouite songs in the interview, and they're not considered the more popular of his songs. I'd like to think he did that for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.