Wire

Today we went down to see Wire play at The Lexington. Deploying her commendable organisational talents once again, the Minx had managed to get us first class tickets to and from London for less than I usually pay to got standard on my own. Thus we had a very comfortable morning, arriving into Euston just after noon, from where we took a short walk to our hotel to drop off our bags.

After that, we strolled up to The Hawley Pub, just north of Camden Lock, to meet up with some Twitter friends, both old and new. It was *just* warm enough to sit out on the terrace on the first floor and that's where we ended up spending the afternoon. No risk of sunburn but no real danger of frostbite, either. 

Later on, we needed to make our way across to Islington to The Lexington, so the Minx set off on foot - she is an enthusiastic walker, recording her 'steps' on her Fitbit - while I hung around a bit longer before taking a taxi. Less points for fitness, I'll grant you, but I had a nice chat with the cabbie about learning The Knowledge.

I arrived at The Lexington just before the Minx, and met up with the friends with whom we were going to the gig. There was just time for a quick bite to eat before we went down to the venue proper. The performance itself was great and I'll pop a link to the Gigtails review here once I've written it. The venue is lovely, too, and, as it happens, I saw Wire perform here just over three years ago. That gig indirectly led me to photographing the band's shoes - which you can read about here - so I took a photo of the boots belonging to the bassist, Graham Lewis, tonight, for old times' sake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.