Ingleton Pool

Just a few miles east along the A65 from Kirkby Lonsdale is a town called Ingleton, which is notable for its Waterfalls Walk and also for its open air swimming pool. The pool isn't open all year, just from late May through to the end of August, and today was the last day it would be open this year, so I thought I'd take Dan and Abi along.

The weather forecast for today was looking pretty grim when I looked last week, but the space for optimism has been gradually increasing and today was no worse than overcast when we set off. As it was the last day the pool would be open and a bank holiday, I thought it might be rather busy, so we got there early. In the end though, it was only us and three other families.

The pool is heated but not so much that you can't see for steam. In fact, it was necessary to keep moving to stay warm, especially when it did start to rain a little bit! 

I thought I'd take the opportunity to teach Dan and Abi to dive, as this is something you're not allowed to do at the Whoop where we usually go to swim. Having taught their old sisters to dive, I was thinking it might take a while but they both managed to do it right first go!

If you are ever up (or down) this way, I highly recommend it. The pool is run by the community and is constantly being improved upon. For example, there's a seating deck now, which wasn't there last time I came.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.