"Flynn"

Walking back from the car park to the cottage after swimming, this afternoon, I saw a cat on the garden wall. I said hello as I walked passed, to which, unsurprisingly, I received no reply.

I left both the porch and the front door open as I went inside; it was a lovely sunny day and on such occasions I like to have a breeze running through the house. I dumped my swimming bag at the foot of the stairs and went into the kitchen to get a glass of water. As I came back into the hall, I saw the cat just inside the front door.

"Hoi, you!" I walked towards the cat and it went back outside, so I turned and went into the living room. Less than a minute later I saw the cat walk past the door. I got up and shoo'd it out again and, reluctantly shut the front door.

As I was on my feet I decided to make some lunch only to see the cat lying on the kitchen window sill. I did seem very familiar with the house. It was also a little underweight and not wearing a collar. I wondered if it was lost. Perhaps it belonged to a previous tenant and had found its way back. I opened the front door again.

The cat was quickly back inside and I watched it making its way 'round. It certainly seemed quite at home. After a quick consult with the Minx, I put out a little milk, some cheese and ham, all of which was promptly gobbled up. The cat kept returning to the milk bowl. I know you're not supposed to give them much milk but I couldn't resist putting out a little more.

Just then Milly arrived with her boyfriend. She'd finished work and had a half hour wait for one of her sisters to finish her shift so she could cadge a lift home. Milly was delighted by the cat and asked if I'd given it a name. "Of course not! It isn't my cat." Milly was unimpressed by this and decided it should be called Flynn.

Milly went off to freshen up and the cat - Flynn, I suppose I should call him/her - disappeared upstairs, too, firstly lounging on the landing and then going into Abi's room, where he stayed until Milly and Evan left, at which point he shot out of the front door, my temporary pet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.